On Dreams – 4 of 10

4of10-WhatDidIJustDo.jpg

The previous post On Dreams – 3 of 10 talked about those strange and sometimes frustrating dreams in which we have hold of an object we desire, only to wake and realise we don’t have the object in reality. Today’s dream focuses on horror of a more literal variety. The kind which, when we experience it in deepest slumber, we want nothing more to escape from the entire wretched situation.

I’m talking of course about dreams in which we are hunted, commonly known as chase dreams. And these are amongst my least favourite to have on a work night because they leave one feeling exhausted, confused, and can be quite traumatic! On a weekend, however, bring on the nightmares, I’ll be waiting with my dream diary!

These are the thriller movies of the dream world, they place you in situations where you are having to escape a threat, sometimes we know our pursuers, sometimes they are nameless and formless (the scariest type often being the latter). Placed in these dreams, all you know is that you are being hunted, and you do not necessarily know why! You are running for your life, but you cannot run (at least not at normal pace) your body feels heavy, and if you try to attack your pursuer or destroy an obstacle in your path, your strikes are weak and pathetic!!!

9 times out of 10 this dreams end before you come to any harm… but they leave you terrified, or wondering what would’ve happened next if you hadn’t woken from them in time!

Until next time, stay off the cheese before beddy byes!

 


What Did I Just Do?

What did I just do?
And
how did I get here?
I’m
too terrified to move,
Alone
And shivering with fear.
In
the darkness I hear sirens,
my
hands are doused in blood,
terror
clings to me like nylon.
Trying
to run, but the air is mud
my
body moves in slow motion,
best
find a way out soon,
to
get clear of this commotion,
escape
the pursuers in this room
but
I haven’t solved this dilemma
cannot
figure out the plot.

Leave a comment